The University of Southern Maine (USM) is a multi-campus public urban comprehensive university and part of the University of Maine System. USM’s three primary campuses are located in Portland, Gorham and Lewiston in the U.S. state of Maine. Originally founded as two separate universities (Gorham Normal School, University of Maine at Portland), the two state universities were combined in 1970 to help streamline the public university system in Maine and eventually expanded by adding the Lewiston campus in 1988. The Portland Campus is home to the Edmund Muskie School of Public Service along with the Bio Sciences Research Institute and the University of Maine School of Law, the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute and the Osher Map Library. The Gorham campus, much more residential, is home to the College of Education and the School of Music.


USM is among the “Best Northeastern Colleges,” according to The Princeton Review’s 2007 listings,[3] and was also included in its 2007 edition of “America’s Best Value Colleges.”[4] As of 2008, USM had 8,133 undergraduate students and 2,320 graduate and law school students, with an average class size of 22 and a student-faculty ratio of 17:1