SAT II or SAT Subject Tests are content-based admission tests that are given in specific subjects that the student chooses to improve their chances of getting into universities in the United States. Students choose the subjects depending on their achievements and interests and also the entry requirements for the universities they are planning to apply.

There are 20 SAT Subject Tests in five general subjects: English, history, languages, mathematics and science. A student may take up to three SAT Subject Tests on a given date. The complete list of tests available on the SAT subject test is given below:


  • Literature


  • U.S. History
  • World History


  • Mathematics Level 1
  • Mathematics Level 2


  • Biology E/M
  • Chemistry
  • Physics


  • Chinese with Listening
  • French
  • French with Listening
  • German
  • German with Listening
  • Modern Hebrew
  • Italian
  • Japanese with Listening
  • Korean with Listening
  • Latin
  • Spanish
  • Spanish with Listening


SAT Subject Tests are generally offered six times in any given school year. Each individual test is scored on a scale of 200 to 800. A student receives an official score report about five weeks after the test. A report will also be sent to the high school if the candidate enters the code in the test paper.

The SAT Subject Tests offers students an opportunity to showcase their strengths and achievements to convey their readiness to take up course at college. Colleges, on the other hand, use the tests for admissions and also to advice students in selecting the right course.